If you want to pass the CISSP certification in just one attempt, you must understand everything there is to know and be aware of the most effective strategies to reach the top. As the demand for CISSP-certified professionals is growing, it has become one of the most in-demand credentials in the world.

However, to prepare for this certification, you need the best online course and study material. Get in touch with InfoSec4TC right away if you’re pursuing the CISSP Certification

With our best online courses, you’ll also get the opportunity to earn a certification as a qualified professional in this industry. 

To know more about CISSP certification and its domains, read out the following blog: 

About CISSP Certification

CISSP Certification stands for Certified Information Systems Security Professional. To pass this certification, candidates have to pass a challenging exam administered by the International Information System Security Certification Consortium.  

This difficult certification is designed to find the best of the best. It’s a three-hour examination with 100 to 150 questions that calls for preparation, concentration, and determination. CISSP focuses on eight domains, each of which is essential for ensuring the security of your data as well as the data of your clients.

Career Scope with CISSP

CISSP certification is crucial for individuals who wish to obtain a respected and specific position in any company, even though it is not required everywhere in the IT security industry. However, high-end cyber security specialists must have it. CISSP should be your objective if you desire any of the following highly compensated positions:

  • Network Architect
  • Chief Information Security Officer
  • IT Director
  • Director of Security
  • Security Analyst
  • Security Systems Engineer

Top 8 CISSP Domains of CISSP certification

The CISSP certification mainly focuses on eight domains. To become certified in this certification, you need to prove your proficiency in any one of the following domains: 

  • Security and Risk Management: 

The first domain receives the highest score and highest percentage (15%) for the CISSP certification. The following are some significant components of the security and risk management field:

  1. Security Control principles
  2. Confidentiality, integrity, and availability of information
  3. Concepts for risk-based management for the supply chain
  4. IT policies and processes
  5. Planning for continuity and business exercises
  6. Managing personnel safety and security.
  7. Laws and regulations governing information security
  8. Evaluation of Compliance requirements
  9. Concepts related to threat modeling and methodologies
  10. Handling Incidents
  11. Test plans for Disaster Recovery
  •  Asset Security : 

This CISSP domain is about protecting resources. This domain covers 10% of the CISSP certification and covers topics related to the concept of information. 

The main topic in Asset Security is:

  1. Information and assets’ identification, classification, and ownership
  2. Safeguarding privacy
  3. Retention of assets
  4. Establishing data security measures
  5. Handling requirements
  • Security Engineering and Architecture: 

This domain covers about 13% of the CISSP exam and helps you get a detailed knowledge of different security engineering concepts. 

This domain covers concepts, including:

  1. Engineering procedures employing secure design principles
  2. Basic security model concepts
  3.  Information system security capabilities
  4.  System vulnerability assessment and mitigation
  5. Cryptography
  6. Designing and implementing physical security.
  • Communications and Network Security: 

This domain covers 13% of the CISSP certification and focuses on creating and protecting the network security of the organization. 

This domain covers concepts, including:

  1. Protect design principles for network architecture;
  2. Secure communication channels and 
  3. Protection of Network components
  • Identity and Access Management: 

This CISSP domain covers 13% of the examination and focuses on attacks 

Using human elements to get access to data, as well as strategies to identify people who are authorized to connect to systems and access data

This domain covers concepts, including:

  1. Controlling access to the assets both physically and logically
  2. Controlling and managing device, person, and service authentication and identification
  3. Understanding and using identity as a third-party service
  4. Implementing Authorization procedures
  5. Identity and access lifecycle 
  • Security Assessment and Testing

Security assessment and testing cover roughly about 12% of the CISSP certification. The design, execution, and analysis of security testing are the primary topics in this domain. It contains:

  1. Creating and approving assessment and test plans
  2. Testing security controls;
  3. Gathering data on security procedures; 
  4. Test results; and
  5.  Internal and external security audits.
  • Security Operations: 

This domain provides information on the operational strategy along with techniques for security research, observation, and protection. The principal subjects in this field are as follows:

  1. Investigative Understanding (Techniques, collection, handling, and digital forensic tools)
  2. international standards for different sorts of investigations
  3. implementing logging and monitoring procedures
  4. Assets inventory, configurations, and management
  5. Fundamental security operations concepts
  6. Understanding resource protection methods
  7. Management of incidents
  8. Testing and implementing disaster recovery plans
  •  Software Development Security

About 10% of the CISSP certification is covered by the software development security domain. With the aid of this domain, professionals can more effectively comprehend, apply, and enforce software security.

. The topics covered include:

  • Secure coding standards and guidelines.
  • Security in the software development life cycle
  • The effectiveness of software security
  • Security controls in development environments;
CISSP Infographic

Some of the FAQs about CISSP certification

Is CISSP a hard exam?

Yes, the CISSP exam is challenging. However, since the certification’s passing rate is not publicly released, it is assumed that it is less than 50%.

How long does it take to pass CISSP certification?

Obtaining the certification can take three to eight months after accumulating five years of work experience. However, depending on the person and how long they spend studying for the test, this estimate might vary greatly.

Is CISSP for beginners?

Yes, any beginner can take the CISSP certification without any experience. Still, it is not recommended as the candidate must spend the next 6 years to fulfill their five years of experience.

How long is CISSP good for?

The CISSP certification is valid for three years. 

Bottom Line

These are the top 8 domains of CISSP certification. If you’re also preparing for this certification, get in touch with InfoSec4TC right away

InfoSec4tc help people start careers in cyber security by providing the best training courses. With us, you can get free and paid cyber security training programs online and earn a certification as a qualified professional in this industry.

Chat WhatsApp